Home > Flat Classroom Projects > Flat Classroom Mod 5 – Task 1

Flat Classroom Mod 5 – Task 1

  • How can students be given choices in their learning? Many times a project can be changed to include choices.  For example, we do a Microsoft Word brochure through an Atomic Learning lesson.  The example is to create a brochure on a health issue.  The first semester I taught this I decided to say a health issue, but let me know if you want to do something else.  Then I decided since it is tech class, that they had to do it on any time of technology.  I had some students create a brochure on snowboarding technology.  The students seem to like to have the choice of what to research.
  • Can consistent learning outcomes occur when different choices have been made by students as to the medium they will use? Consistent learning outcomes can occur when different choice have been made by students as to the medium they will use.  In my class, the students for all group projects either have the choice to pick their topic or pick their partners.  I allow them for the presentation group project to decide how to present, although they have to use some type of technology.  Students use Google Presentations, PowerPoint, Prezi, iMovie, Jaycut, Animoto, or other Web 2.0 tools to create their presentation. The mode is just how to present it, the content must stay consistent.
  1. May 9, 2011 at 1:25 am

    Toni, I support your movement toward allowing choice on the fulfillment of projects. Your essential questions on your wiki are clear and then I agree with you that students can demonstrate their learning using a variety of web 2.0 tools. The independent study you offer gets at an issue that I have wondered about at our High School for those students who are creating learning around a passion outside of school. I didn’t see this posted on the course Ning so I’m leaving my comment here. Thanks for your ideas.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

