PBS -Tech 340 Introduction

My expectations for the course, “Evaluating and Organizing Internet Resources and Content”, is that I learn how to teach younger students how to use the web. Students are researching online earlier and earlier. We need to make sure they know how to maneuver the web responsibly. I also hope in the class, I learn and get to know other educators in the class. I hope to take-away hands-on activities for students and fellow teachers to learn so that I can spread digital citizenship throughout my school.

This professional development experience will allow me to learn how to use an online classroom, using moodle and chats to effectively learn from other teachers.

With high school students, we used different search tools to try to find different sites. We look at the sites and talk about the differences between .com, .org, .gov, .net, and others. We also used a great link to compare a google search in China with one in the US.  Here are some of my high school ideas. Now that I am at an elementary school I need to revise my lessons for younger students.

The successes I have had so far with Internet Content include students who realize that people put out the information for their own purpose not for the pure reason of learning. The challenges are when students don’t double check the work. I would like to have more successes. I would like my students to use more Web 2.0 tools to access and organize resources.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

