Home > Research and Information Fluency > Web Site Evaluation form in Action

Web Site Evaluation form in Action

In Session 1, I chose Common Sense Media during the Find a Site Activity. In the past, many of my time at work was spent making sure websites were appropriate and accurate for students and teachers. I have always used a form similar to the one below. Common Sense does well when I evaluate it for the criteria taught in the PBS TECH 340 Class. The one thing you can’t seem to find are dates to when they are updated. But I am a frequent user of this site for school-use and I know they are always updating and adding content. The content is easy to read, easy to move around, up-to-date, helpful and the site contains links that work. There was no inaccurate information and I can find consistent information on other sites.

While searching I also found Web Wise Kids, but was not as impressed with its’ organization. The content is easy to read, up-to-date, and the site contains links that work. But the site was not helpful because most things you had to pay for.  This site still provided good information but was not as “lesson” driven and teacher friendly as Common Sense Media.

Another site I found while taking this course is Safe Teens. This was the least up-to-date. It had not been updated since August 2011. I felt that there were some good information on the site, but it is not a continued project.

Form that I created for elementary age students is at Google Forms or embedded below:

I believe my form is a good evaluation for myself and my students.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

