RSS Feed

What is Pull Technology?  Pull technology to me means having all the blogs or websites I want to visit come to me when they have updated anything. Instead of trying to bookmark and keep track of all the bloggers you like or all the websites you like, utilize “pull technology” to have it delivered to you.  .

I started using the Google Reader when my co-worker Lisette Casey showed me how it worked.  I loved it.  I started following blogs and reading them weekly to keep up with what was new in Education and Technology Education.  You can do this with any site that has a RSS Feed on it. Since then, I have started to follow friends and relatives that have started blogging about their life, their travels, or their experiences. I also used Google Reader for student’s blogs. It started getting a little glitchy and I then was introduced to Netvibes.

Netvibes is my newspaper.  It keeps me informed about what is happening in the world. I follow 100s of  different blogs.  Some of the bloggers write daily, others write weekly.  Some of the writers I agree with, some of them I disagree with.  But all is knowledge and it is interesting to see what other people in other parts of the world and close by are doing.  Students can begin to realize how much information is on the web and how they can organize it for their beliefs, interests and work.

  1. Lynn
    July 25, 2012 at 10:56 am

    How do I get started? I need someone to show me any tips? thank you!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

