eBooks

I am wondering about eBooks and how it will work. Right now, I am a librarian at an elementary school. We use Mackin as one of our main publishers and as a district we have bought some of the ebooks from Mackin. I introduced it to 3rd through 5th graders in the last few weeks. I felt that the students were excited to find the new resource of 60 books that they would have access to anytime. But I also wasn’t sure if anyone would use them.  Then this week, I had a 3rd grader tell me that her and her dad could not use the ebooks. I was so disappointed, wondering what had gone wrong. Instead of over-thinking the problems, I emailed the dad with instructions on how to access and asked him at which point the ebooks would not work. The dad emailed back super excited about the fact that he had figured it out during the day to figure out how it works on the iPad. He was so excited to show his daughter when she got home from school. This was one of those times that I just smiled. I felt like I had inspired reading. This is (as teachers) sometimes all we can hope for. To inspire one student everyday!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

