Reflections on #tieco13

From the first session with Steve Hargadon, I knew that TIE will give me more skills to push my library to the next level. Steve talked about the two narratives in Education: Testing (Control and Obedience) and Liber (Choice and Agency). I believe that I sometimes give students choice, but I am now going to be providing a Passion Project or Genius Section of the library where it will all be about student choice. When they come into the library they will have to always spend some time working on their Passion. I plan on reading the book that Steve mentioned called “One Size Does Not Fit All”. When asked to talk about our interests @Steve had a hard time getting our attention back. Passion is hard to compete with. Let the students find their passion. I also will talk to my teachers about their passions and help them follow them. Steve used the oxygen mask analogy. Do you put on your oxygen mask first so you can breathe or do you do it because we must model first.

As leaders, I also think it is our job to curate for others. As the librarian, I don’t think I do enough of this digitally. I will be working with teachers to make sure they know how to curate and ask them to let the students curate their own knowledge with our guidance. I know if I do all the curating for them, they will miss some of the learning. Ben Wilkoff had a great session on curating and it reminded me of his session 4 years ago about “Keeping Forever In Mind”. Every once in a while, we should remember how it is that we learn. We should put ourselves in situations where everything is new. Play is learning. As these thoughts were coming together, I also explored the Personalized Learning sessions where I really came to realize the Passion Project idea was what I needed in my library. I may be able to get help from Junior Achievement. I will be testing the project out with fifth graders first and then trying with all levels. This conference was inspiring.

I was reminded that the Four C’s are they: communication, collaboration, critical thinking, and creativity. But we discussed that lower socio-economical students need so much more background information. This reminds me how much reading is important. What books can I be reading to the youngest students so that they are getting more background information?  I believe I will do a read aloud with the youngest groups. The Personalized Learning Dudes from District 11 talked about How We Learn: Familiarization, Utilization, Integration, Reorientation, Evolution!  So ask kids to create video autobiographies -great idea for first weeks of school! CDE also states that we must know “learner skills, interests, and learning styles in addition to academic outcomes.” Could looping with your students help this?  As a teacher who sees the same students consistently, I need to make sure I know their interests and let them explore their interests more.

I also presented four times:

All of my presentations were fun and exciting and I thought about how I can do them better next time.  The Mystery Skype was the best since Reinhard Marx from Germany skyped in for us and I asked the participants to guess where he was, just like the students have to. More conferences in my future.

  1. June 30, 2013 at 9:27 pm

    I love this reflection. Thank you for creating the space and time to learn and reflect (and for attending my session!)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

