Home > Creativity and Innovation, Critical Thinking, Opportunity, Relationships > Happier at Home by @gretchenrubin

Happier at Home by @gretchenrubin

Some amazing quotes directly for the book. I love Gretchen’s writing and there are so many other things in the book but these are the ones that I had to highlight.  Get her books and read them!!!

Frank Lloyd Wright quote from the book. “Elimination, therefore, may be just as meaningless as elaboration, perhaps more often is so. To know what to leave out and what to put in; just where and just how, ah, that is to have been educated in knowledge of simplicity.”

Rules for cleaning: “Clean as I go.”

“Happiness doesn’t always make me feel happy” “The only person I can change is myself.”  “One of the best ways to make other people happy is to be happy myself.”

“In every area of my life, I dislike the feeling of uncertainty or unfamiliarity. I love mastery.”

“Research shows that the group member who scores lowest on conscientiousness, agreeableness, and emotional stability often sets the tone for a whole group.”  “The  grouch is the most common form of the happiness leech.”

Some suggestions:  “Avoid being alone with the happiness leech.” “Communicate through email if possible.” “Keep a sense of humor. ” “Instead of contradicting pessimistic or negative statements, acknowledge them.”  “Act they way I want to feel; behave the way I want to behave.”  “Mind my own business.”

“Tiggers emerge in contrast to Eeyores, and Eeyores emerge in contrast to Tiggers.”

“It’s so easy to wish that we’d made an effort in the past, so that we’d happily be enjoying the befit now, but when now is the time when that effort must be made, as it always is, that prospect is much less inviting.”

“If something’s important to me, I should reserve time for it in my schedule, make a place for it in my home.”

“What makes you feel good?”  “What makes you feel bad?” “Is there any way in which you don’t feel right about your life?” “Do you have sources of an atmosphere of growth?”

The Eight Spledid Truths:

  1. To be happier, I have to think about feeling good, feeling bad, and feeling right, in an atmosphere of growth.
  2. One of the best ways to make myself happy is to make other people happy. One of the ways to make other people happy is to be happy myself.
  3. The days are long, but the years are short.
  4. I’m not happy unless I think I’m happy.
  5. I can build a happy life only on the foundation of my own nature.
  6. The only person I can change is myself.
  7. Happy people make people happy, but I can’t make someone be happy, and No one else can make me happy.
  8. Now is now.

The Happiness Project is a website at happiness-project.com.

11 Tips for dealing with a really lousy day:

  1. Resist the urge to “treat” yourself.
  2. Do something nice for someone else.
  3. Distract yourself.
  4. Seek inner peace through outer order.
  5. Tell yourself, “Well, at least I…”
  6. Exercise.
  7. Stay in Contact with someone.
  8. Things really will look brighter in the morning. Get to bed early
  9. Keep perspective. “Will this matter in a month?”
  10. Write it down.
  11. Be grateful.
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

