Home > Critical Thinking, International Baccalaureate, Opportunity, Relationships > “I’m Not a Racist, Am I?” movie about Race

“I’m Not a Racist, Am I?” movie about Race

On March 29th, our school revisited our topic of racism with the documentary, “I’m Not a Racists, Am I?” The website linked has many resources for those wanting more information.

Many students felt uncomfortable with the title and the movie in general. They felt like just watching the movie would not change beliefs.  I have to disagree. I think many people are almost unconscious when it comes to racism.  They don’t think they are racist because they have one friend.  Or they don’t think they are racist because they are nice.  The movie goes into the system of racism and how prevalent it is in America.  In the movie they use Unpacking the Invisible Knapsack to show the students what privilege looks like.  They also play a game similar to Life that shows how discrimination works.  To me, if we don’t have these conversations and open everyone’s eyes to what is happening, we are going backwards.

Think about how you talk about race to students, your own children and co-workers.  Keep the discussion going.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

